A geographical overview of canada

Lawrence and the St. He claims the region for France. Mounted Police - The British expel the Acadians from their lands. The British gain control of all the French lands in Canada as a result.

A geographical overview of canada

See the Counties of Canada page. The subdivisions of the Canadian provinces and territories are varied in size, status, and stability. The eastern provinces tend to be divided into counties; the western provinces, sections, divisions, or districts; and Yukon is only subdivided for electoral or census purposes.

Prince Edward Island appears to have been subdivided into Prince, Queens, and Kings Counties for as long as it has been a province. Northwest Territory had been subdivided into the districts of Franklin, Keewatin, and Mackenzie sincealthough their borders had been somewhat modified; then, aboutit was changed to five districts Baffin, Fort Smith, Inuvik, Keewatin, and Kitikmeot.

Other provinces are more complex. The units of local government include cantons, cities, community councils, counties, districts, divisions, muncipalities, parishes, sections, towns, and villages.

There are sub-varieties, including county regional municipalities, district municipalities, metropolitan municipalities, and municipal townships. Many provinces have more than one level of subdivision. Most of them have changed their subdivisions several times.

British Columbia is separated from Alaska by an indefinite boundary in coastal waters. Newfoundland and Labrador consists of the large island of Newfoundland, a large mainland area on the northeast coast Labradorand adjacent islands. Labrador has sometimes been abbreviated LB as if it were a province name.

The border between Labrador and Nunavut runs along Killiniq Island. Middle Island, an islet lying off Pelee Island, is the southernmost point of land in Canada. Yukon includes Herschel Island in the Arctic Ocean.

A geographical overview of canada

Manitoba, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Saskatchewan. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions. British possession, on the Columbia River, named by Capt.

Robert Gray for his vessel Columbia, in turn named for Cristopher Columbus. Probably from Cree maniotwapow: Called a "new found isle" by discoverer, John Cabot. Latin for New Scotland. Inuktitut for our land. Named for Lake Ontario. From native word, possibly onittariio: Named for the Saskatchewan River.

Geographical indications

From Cree Kisiskatchewani Sipi: Named for the Yukon River. From native name Yu-kun-ah: Aroundthe lands which now form Canada were divided between France and Great Britain. Newfoundland and Nova Scotia were British colonies.

France retained only the islands of Saint Pierre and Miquelon, which now constitute a territorial collectivity of France.

Its capital was Charlottetown.

A geographical overview of canada

Treaty of Paris recognized independence of the United States. Sydney was the capital of Cape Breton Island. Fredericton became capital of New Brunswick.

Capital of Upper Canada established at Niagara, which was simultaneously renamed Newark. The name change was reversed in The town is now Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Keep Exploring Britannica

Capital of Upper Canada moved from Niagara to York. Labrador coast and Anticosti Island transferred to Newfoundland. Cape Breton Island merged with Nova Scotia.The most widespread use of both microwave and millimeter-wave radar is automotive safety devices, including adaptive cruise control, automatic braking, collision warning, blind spot detection, lane departure warning, and backup object detection.

Canada covers 9,, km 2 (3,, sq mi) and a panoply of various geoclimatic regions. There are 8 main regions. Canada also encompasses vast maritime terrain, with the world's longest coastline of , kilometres (, mi).

The physical geography of Canada is widely varied. Although Canada eliminated tariffs on all industrial and most agricultural products imported from the United States under the terms of NAFTA, tariffs and tariff-rate quotas (TRQs) remain in place on dairy and poultry tariff lines.

The West Coast

Canada: Geographical and historical treatment of Canada, including maps and statistics as well as a survey of its people, economy, and government. Central Canada, containing the country’s two largest provinces, Ontario and Quebec, is part of a massive geographic land form known as the Canadian Shield that gives much of the country its distinctive shape.

In the organizational structure of the Society of St. Pius X, the district is the equivalent of a religious province, a territorial division often coinciding with the geographical boundaries of a nation.

Geography of Montreal, Overview of Canada